World XI vs Asia XI: Six Indians in squad, Virat Kohli’s selection still unclear

asia xi vs world xi, asia xi squad, world 11 team, asia xi vs world xi 2020 team squad, world xi vs asia xi 2020 player list, asia xi vs world xi 2020 player list, asia 11 vs world 11 squad, virat kohli asia xi, kohli asia xi vs world xi, asia xi team, world xi team, india asia xi players, cricket news

It remains to be seen if Virat Kohli makes him available for the games scheduled in Dhaka between March 18 to 22.

The Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Monday announced the Asia XI squad which will face a World XI in a T20 series to commemorate the birth centenary of Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, Bangladesh's founding father.

KL Rahul (one game*), Virat Kohli*, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Mohammad Shami and Kuldeep Yadav are among the six Indians in the 15-man squad, However, Kohli's selection is subject to confirmation ESPNCricinfo reported.

Considering the hectic schedule of the Indian team, it remains to be seen if the Indian captain makes him available for the games scheduled in Dhaka between March 18 to 22.

A week later, India will host a three-match ODI series against South Africa beginning March 12 in Dharamsala. The second game will be played in Lucknow on March 15 and third in Kolkata on March 18.

The IPL also starts on March 29. If the first T20 in Dhaka is held on March 18, then Kohli can't play that game as he will be on national duty.

BCB president Nazmul Hassan spoke to the media and said, "We have already received four names from India. We haven't signed contracts but Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Shikhar Dhawan, and Mohammed Shami are supposed to come. They have said KL Rahul and Virat Kohli will play one game each, but that hasn't been finalised."

"Players like Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman have finalised with us, from Afghanistan. Nepal's Sandeep Lamichhane will play while from Sri Lanka, we will have Lasith Malinga and Thisara Perera," ESPNCricinfo quoted him as saying.

"From Bangladesh, we will have Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Mahmudullah and Liton Das."

"I don't remember all the names, but we will have three or four players from South Africa. Definitely, there will be the same number of players from West Indies. Australia and New Zealand will be playing but we will try to find some (players)."

"Bairstow is definitely coming. Ngidi is coming. Chris Gayle is supposed to play. Faf du Plessis. We will have some of the best players around. We are uncertain about Pakistan since the PSL is will be ongoing. We will invite some of the cricketing greats," added Hassan.


Asia XI:

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammad Shami, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Tamim Iqbal, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Sandeep Lamichhane.

World XI:

Alex Hales, Chris Gayle, Faf du Plessis (c), Nicholas Pooran, Brendan Taylor, Jonny Bairstow, Kieron Pollard, Adil Rashid, Sheldon Cottrell, Lungi Ngidi, Andrew Tye, Mitchell McClenaghan.