Australia Invincible At The Gabba Since 1988

Akshay Sonawane
·1-min read

After a prolific effort with the bat for drawing the 3rd Test match at Sydney Cricket Ground, the Indian team will be visiting the Gabba for the series decider on Friday, January 15.

The Aussies are invincible at the Gabba, it will be a big task for the Indian team to counter the hosts at a venue where they seem to be unbeatable. The first Test match at Brisbane’s venue was played in the year 1931. Australia played 55 matches at the Gabba, the hosts won 33 games and lost eight fixtures. The Aussies tied only one game while 13 games ended in a stalemate, also the hosts have been unbeaten at the Gabba in 28 matches, their last defeat at the venue came in the year 1988.

To seal the bilateral series, the Aussies need to win the fourth Test match at any cost. If the Test match ends in a draw, not only the series will be tied but also the Border-Gavaskar Trophy will be retained by the Indian team. The visitors currently hold the trophy as they managed to retain the iconic trophy in the 2018-19 series which was played in Australia. Team India’s historic series triumph in 2018-19 was the Indian team’s first series victory on the Australian soil.