BCCI AGM approves two more teams; IPL 2022 Will Now Be 10 Teams League

Rutunjay Dole
·2-min read

As expected BCCI has approved two new IPL teams but only from IPL 2022, while the 14th edition of IPL i.e. IPL 2021 will be played only with 8 teams. The decision was taken during the BCCI 89th Annual General Meeting (AGM) today in Ahmedabad.

According to one of the BCCI official, ‘time is too short for introduction of the new teams for IPL in 2021. Tendering, player’s auction and most importantly getting all the stakeholders on the same page will be really challenging in short-time span. We are of the view, any addition to the team should only happen for IPL 2022.″

Another old BCCI functionary was also not comfortable with the idea of new IPL teams before 2022, “Our broadcast rights deal with Star will end by IPL 2021. After the end of the cycle we should introduce new teams so that the broadcast rights and other commercial partnership values can be increased. Final decision now will be taken in AGM only and according to me the plan to increase teams will be shelved this year’.

Ten teams will mean 94 matches in the home and away format. That implies a bigger window for the tournament, which may be tough given the current situation”, said another BCCI official.

According to reports doing the rounds, Adani Group owned by Gautam Adani and RPSG owned by Sanjeev Goenka will be the biggest contenders for the 9th IPL team. Adani’s in past have openly declared their interest in owning the IPL team. With Ahmedabad now boasting of the biggest cricket stadium in the country, their interest will grow manifolds.

On the other hand, Goenka had owned IPL team in the past as an owner of Rising Pune Supergiants for two years and will surely throw their hat in the ring when BCCI comes out with tender.