Deepak Chahar claims second hat-trick within 48 hours

Deepak Chahar was once again exceptional with the ball on Tuesday. (Source: BCCI)

Deepak Chahar is on a roll. After claiming a hat-trick on Sunday in the third and final T20I against Bangladesh, the Indian seamer hit the purple patch yet again on Tuesday.

Playing for Rajasthan against Vidarbha in a Group 'B' match of the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, the 27-year-old picked up four wickets, which included three wickets of three consecutive legitimate deliveries.

In the rain-hit contest at the Greenfield International Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram, it was Vidarbha won the toss and decided to bat first. But the decision backfired as Chahar emerged as the wrecker-in-chief with figures of 4/18 in 3 overs to restrict Vidarbha to 99/9 in 13 overs.

The right-arm seamer once again dismantled the lower order in the final over of the innings. Chahar claimed his victims in the final three deliveries of the 13th over.

READ | Master of deception: How Deepak Chahar got his hat-trick against Bangladesh

Darshan Nalkande was out on the fourth delivery after which he bowled an extra (possibly a wide). In the final two balls of the innings, the medium-pacer removed Shrikant Wagh and Akshay Wadkar to complete the feat.

However, his heroics went in vain as Rajasthan, chasing a revised target, lost the match by 1 run (via the VJD method) finishing with 105/8 in a game to reduced to 13 overs due to rain.

Earlier on Sunday, Chahar guided India to a brilliant 30-run win over Bangladesh to help the Men In Blue wrap the three-match series 2-1.

Chahar eventually ended up with the figures of 6/7 - the best figures recorded in T20I history. The previous record was held by Sri Lanka's Ajantha Mendis, who had scalped the same number of wickets while giving eight runs against Zimbabwe in 2012.

In the match on Sunday, Chahar removed Aminul Islam, Shafiul Islam, and Mustafizur Rahman to complete his maiden hat-trick in T20Is.

In the course, he also became the first Indian to complete a hat-trick in the shortest format of the game.

Elsewhere, Mumbai registered their fourth win in the league stage after beating Pondicherry by 27 runs.

Madhya Pradesh defeated Mizoram by 86 runs. Haryana defeated Bengal by five wickets.