ICC Awards: MS Dhoni named captain of Men’s T20I Team of the Decade; Kohli, Rohit, Bumrah also included

Rutunjay Dole
·1-min read

The International Cricket Council (ICC) released the much-awaited ICC T20I Men’s Team of the decade on Sunday (December 27) and named former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the captain of the dream team.

MS Dhoni, who is also the wicketkeeper of the star-studded side, was picked alongside fellow Indian cricketers Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah.

The team comprised Rohit Sharma and West Indies batting legend Chris Gayle as the openers of the side while Australia captain Aaron Finch found a spot at number three. Kohli at number four is followed by former South Africa legend AB de Villiers at number five.

Australia all-rounder Glenn Maxwell and West Indies all-rounder Kieron Pollard also found a spot in the side. The batsmen as well as the all-rounder in the dream team have proven their big-hitting skills on multiple occasions at the big stage.

The bowling attack comprised of Afghanistan star spinner Rashid Khan and the master and apprentice duo of Jasprit Bumrah and Sri Lankan pace legend Lasith Malinga. Bumrah and Malinga play together in the IPL for the franchise Mumbai Indians and the Indian has been a protégé of the Sri Lankan pace great.

ICC T20I team of the decade: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (wk & C), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga.