ICC ODI Team Of the Decade: MS Dhoni Named as a captain, Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma Included

Rutunjay Dole
·1-min read

India’s 2011 World Cup winning captain MS Dhoni has been named as the skipper of the ICC ODI Team of the Decade. MS Dhoni was earlier also named the skipper of the ICC T20I Team of the Decade. There are two Australians in the list in the form of opening batsman David Warner and fast bowler Mitchell Starc.

The only other country to have more than one player in the list is South Africa. Batsman AB de Villiers and spinner Imran Tahir have made it to the list from the Proteas.

The other players in the list include all-rounder Shakib Al-Hasan from Bangladesh. He has been rewarded for his overall skills as he has led the all-rounder list for most of the decade.

The only Englishman to make it to the list is Ben Stokes, who was the hero during the 2019 World Cup and played a key role in England winning its maiden trophy.

Fast bowler Trent Boult is the only New Zealand player to make it to the list, with Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga being the final member of the playing XI.

There are two other Indian players to make it to the list of the ODI team of the decade and that is Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma. India, with three players in the list, leads the playing XI.