Megan Thee Stallion leads 2021 BET Awards nominations

·4-min read
Megan Thee Stallion (Image source: Instagram)
Megan Thee Stallion (Image source: Instagram)

Washington [US], May 28 (ANI): Rappers Megan Thee Stallion and DaBaby dominated the 2021 BET Award nominations announced on Thursday, with a total of seven nods each.

As per Variety, Cardi B and Drake follow, with five nominations each. The show, which recognises Black excellence in music, television, film, and sports, will air on June 27 on BET Networks.

"We are back and excited to bring culture's biggest night, the 2021 'BET Awards,' safely back to Los Angeles to celebrate this year's incredible roster of nominees," said Connie Orlando, executive vice president, specials, music programming and music strategy.

This year, Stallion is up for best female hip hop artist, video of the year for 'WAP', and album of the year, among other nods. DaBaby is in the running for best male hip hop artist, album of the year and is recognised in four best collaboration tracks for his features alongside Roddy Ricch, Megan Thee Stallion, Pop Smoke and Lil Baby, and Jack Harlow, Tory Lanez and Lil Wayne.

The BET Awards are expected to return with a live audience. The network is working closely with Los Angeles County to support community vaccination efforts and ensure adherence to COVID-19 protocols.

Here's the complete list of nominees:

Album of the Year

After Hours - The Weeknd

Blame It On Baby - DaBaby

Good News - Megan Thee Stallion

Heaux Tales - Jazmine Sullivan

King's Disease - Nas

Ungodly Hour - Chloe X Halle

Best Collaboration

Cardi B Ft. Megan Thee Stallion - Wap

DaBaby Ft. Roddy Ricch - Rockstar

DJ Khaled Ft. Drake - Popstar

Jack Harlow Ft. DaBaby, Tory Lanez & Lil Wayne - Whats Poppin (Remix)

Megan Thee Stallion Ft. DaBaby - Cry Baby

Pop Smoke Ft. Lil Baby & DaBaby - For The Night

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist



Jazmine Sullivan

Jhene Aiko

Summer Walker


Best Male R&B / Pop Artist


Anderson .Paak

Chris Brown



The Weeknd

Best New Artist

Coi Leray

Flo Milli


Jack Harlow


Pooh Shiesty

Best Group

21 Savage & Metro Boomin

Chloe X Halle

Chris Brown & Young Thug

City Girls


Silk Sonic

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

Cardi B

Coi Leray

Doja Cat

Megan Thee Stallion



Best Male Hip Hop Artist



J. Cole

Jack Harlow

Lil Baby

Pop Smoke

Dr Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Bebe Winans - In Jesus Name

Cece Winans - Never Lost

H.E.R. - Hold Us Together

Kirk Franklin - Strong God

Marvin Sapp - Thank You For It All

Tamela Mann - Touch From You

BET Her Award

Alicia Keys Ft. Khalid - So Done

Brandy Ft. Chance The Rapper - Baby Mama

Bri Steves - Anti Queen

Chloe X Halle - Baby Girl

Ciara Ft. Ester Dean - Rooted

SZA - Good Days

Best International Act

Aya Nakamura (France)

Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Emicida (Brazil)

Headie One (Uk)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Young T & Bugsey (Uk)

Youssoupha (France)

Viewer's Choice Award

Cardi B Ft. Megan Thee Stallion - Wap

Chris Brown & Young Thug - Go Crazy

DaBaby Ft. Roddy Ricch - Rockstar

DJ Khaled Ft. Drake - Popstar

Drake Ft. Lil Durk - Laugh Now Cry Later

Lil Baby - The Bigger Picture

Megan Thee Stallion Ft. Beyonce - Savage (Remix)

Silk Sonic - Leave The Door Open

Video of the Year

Cardi B - Up

Cardi B Ft. Megan Thee Stallion - Wap

Chloe X Halle - Do It

Chris Brown & Young Thug - Go Crazy

Drake Ft. Lil Durk - Laugh Now Cry Later

Silk Sonic - Leave The Door Open

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom

Bruno Mars And Florent Dechard

Cole Bennett

Colin Tilley

Dave Meyers

Hype Williams

Best Movie

Coming 2 America

Judas And The Black Messiah

Ma Rainey's Black Bottom

One Night In Miami


The United States Vs. Billie Holiday

Best Actress

Andra Day

Angela Bassett

Issa Rae

Jurnee Smollett

Viola Davis


Best Actor

Aldis Hodge

Chadwick Boseman

Damson Idris

Daniel Kaluuya

Eddie Murphy

Lakeith Stanfield

Youngstars Award

Alex R. Hibbert

Ethan Hutchison

Lonnie Chavis

Marsai Martin

Michael Epps

Storm Reid

Sportswoman of the Year Award

A'ja Wilson

Candace Parker

Claressa Shields

Naomi Osaka

Serena Williams

Skylar Diggins-Smith

Sportsman of the Year Award

Kyrie Irving

Lebron James

Patrick Mahomes

Russell Westbrook

Russell Wilson

Stephen Curry

Variety has learnt that BET's last year's show, which took place June 28, 2020, with a mix of in-studio host Amanda Seales and pre-produced music performances, was the No. 1 cable awards show among adults 18-49 in the 2020 broadcast season.

Connie Orlando, EVP specials, music programming and music strategy at BET will oversee the 2021 BET Awards and serve as executive producer along with Jesse Collins, CEO of Jesse Collins Entertainment. (ANI)

Our goal is to create a safe and engaging place for users to connect over interests and passions. In order to improve our community experience, we are temporarily suspending article commenting