Mohammed Siraj To Lead The Indian Pace Attack At The Gabba

Akshay Sonawane
·1-min read

After Jasprit Bumrah’s exclusion from the 4th Test match due to an abdominal strain has left the Indian pace attack in a turmoil. The visitors are left with a bunch of inexperienced pacers in their squad. Shardul Thakur made his Test debut against West Indies in 2018 but the swing bowler walked out of the field due to an injury after 10 balls, Navdeep Saini and Mohammed Siraj made their debut in the on-going bilateral series against the Aussies.

Siraj made his debut in the longest format in the second Test match of the on-going bilateral series against the Aussies. In his debut match, Siraj pocketed five wickets while in the third Test at Sydney the pacer got two wickets to his name. Siraj has been highly effective in his first two Test appearances for the Indian team and is likely to lead the Indian pace attack in the absence of Bumrah in the final Test match which will be a series decider.

Throughout the series Down Under, the Indian team’s pacers have been surrounded by injuries. Ishant Sharma was ruled out from the Border-Gavaskar trophy due to an injury which he picked during the IPL, the pacer’s exclusion was announced even before the Test series started. Mohammed Shami broke his wrist in the first Test while facing Pat Cummins. Umesh Yadav pulled his leg muscle in the Boxing Day Test match and Bumrah was ruled out on Tuesday due to an abdominal strain. In the absence of all the experienced Indian bowlers, Siraj will be the one to helm the Indian pace attack at The Gabba.